Gentle embrace.

Photo – by me.

Home.

I’m lying in bed after just getting off the phone with my best friend. I miss her. I miss going over for coffee. I miss being spoiled and having her cook me pancakes, with cinnamon sugar. But the thing I miss the most, are her hugs.

Human touch. It is so powerful. One hug can make you feel. . . Safe, loved, valued, cared for, appreciated. It is almost like a drug we crave after. And if denied. We start to curl, we turn into an ugly version of ourselves. Someone who is constantly negative, cold, hard and mean.

We can lie to ourselves. We tell ourselves to “harden up” to just “get over it”.

Why can’t we acknowledge that we need it? I need it.

I have been spoiled. Spoiled with a loving mother who hugged and kissed me when I was small and blossoming. Spoiled by a nan that never said no to my open arms. Spoiled by a best friend, that even at the end of a long day looking after her family, still made time for me.

Spoiled yes. But thankful. Thankful I know true love, true care, the true meaning of unconditional love.

Author: Talija

I'm a very bubbly, crazy young adult, who always sees the best in people and life. I love to write! Even though I am dyslexic I don't let that stop me!

One thought on “Gentle embrace.”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started